You can configure Storyist to save a copy of your work automatically every few minutes to help minimize data loss in case of power failure or other unforeseen circumstances.
To have Storyist save your work for you automatically:
When autosave is enabled, Storyist periodically saves a copy of your work to a file with the characters (Autosaved) appended to the filename. For example, if you are working on a story named My Novel.story and you have not saved your changes, Storyist creates a file named My Novel (Autosaved).story in the same directory. Storyist autosaves only those files with unsaved changes.
The next time you manually save your changes, Storyist removes the autosaved file, because your saved file is more recent than the autosaved file.
You can configure Storyist to back up your project for you automatically on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
To have Storyist back up your project for you: automatically:
The backup copy of your story is created on your computer in the “~/Library/Application Support/Storyist/Backup” folder (where the “~” character represents the path to your home folder).
You can also back up your work manually. You might choose to make a backup before starting a round of revisions or before trying a scene you are not sure you’re going to keep.
To back up your project manually:
It is good practice to make regular backup copies of the ~/Library/Application Support/Storyist/ folder and other important folders on your computer.
Note: You can view your previous backups by choosing File > Backups.
Not happy with the changes you’ve made to your story? It is easy to return to a previously backed-up version:
If you want to open a backup directly (instead of using the File > Revert to Backup command), please copy it from the backup folder to another location before opening it.
Note: When you revert to a previous version of a file, any unsaved data is lost. Also, choosing File > Save overwrites the contents of the file. This means that the newer version of your file is overwritten by the older (backed-up) version and will no longer be accessible.
See a typo? Something not clear? Help us improve the documentation by letting us know in the comments.blog comments powered by Disqus